How many diets include the guideline “eat lots of vegetables and fruits”? Most of them, because plants are good for you and provide vitamins, minerals, and antioxidants to keep you healthy. Avoiding meat means avoiding saturated fat as well as the antibiotics and hormones injected into livestock grown on factory farms. Some people also eat vegetarian for ethical reasons such as animal welfare and environmental conservation.
Veganism has expanded to not only animal-free products but also environmentally friendly which makes the whole process extremely limiting - or so people think. Nowadays, there are enough recipes and enough choice in food imported and exported across the globe that can satisfy any hungry tummy! Navigating any new diet can be a challenge, but luckily, figuring out what you can and can’t eat on a vegan meal plan isn’t that hard. You’ll have to say goodbye to meat, eggs, honey, and dairy, and you’ll definitely need to hone your label-reading skills. Other than that, though, there’s a world of vegan recipes just waiting for you. Every fruit, vegetable, bean, nut, and grain is included, and there are tons of vegan foods and snacks you can get in stores these days. Use this guide the next time you’re at the supermarket to pick up all the plant-based food you need.
List From The BBC
According to the BBC, meat, eggs, seafood, and any products derived from them (like gelatin and collagen) are not part of a vegan diet. But that doesn’t mean you have to give up all of your favorite foods. These substitutions will help you sate your cravings without breaking your plant-based diet.
Beyond Meat sausage (instead of pork sausage)
chickpea salad (instead of tuna or chicken salad)
pulled jackfruit (instead of pulled pork)
store-bought chicken substitutes
store-bought meat substitutes
store-bought vegan jerky
Traditional dairy is a no-go when you’re a vegan. Luckily, there are plenty of nut-, grain-, and soy-based substitutes for you to enjoy. That means milk, cheese, yogurt, and even ice cream don’t have to be off the table. Try these when you get a craving for something creamy.
coconut or aquafaba whipped cream
homemade vegan ice cream
store-bought vegan coffee creamers
store-bought vegan ice creams
store-bought vegan milk
vegan cashew cream “cheese” sauce
vegan queso dip
No Butter, Ghee, Lard or Schmaltz
You can eat almost any fat on a vegan diet, such as extra virgin olive oil, coconut oil, and avocado oil. One grey area is palm oil. While palm oil doesn’t come from an animal source, many vegans are concerned about how areas are deforested in order to plant palm oil plantations, leading to habitat loss for millions of animals. The problem is especially affecting fragile orangutan populations.
Veggies and Fruit to Your Heart’s Content
Eat all the vegetables you want! Beans, nuts, and peas are especially rich in protein, but you may be surprised to learn that even the humble white potato contains 3 to 7 grams of protein, depending on its size. Try to eat a rainbow of veggies every day to make sure you’re getting all the nutrients you need. This is one food category you can embrace with joy. A ripe, juicy fruit is like vegan candy. Eat on it's own (raw) or turn into gorgeous smoothie bowls, but anyway you slice it, the fruit’s definitely on the menu.
The fiber you get from grains will help keep you full and satisfied when eating vegan. Don’t get stuck eating just white bread, pasta, and rice. Instead, branch out and experiment with whole grains like bulgur, millet, amaranth, steel-cut oats, and more.
In addition, many vegan versions of familiar foods are available, so you can eat vegan hot dogs, ice cream, cheese, non-dairy yogurt and vegan mayonnaise along with the more familiar veggie burgers and other meat substitute products. Many foods are associated with veganism, such as soy milk, non-dairy milk substitutes, and tofu, but many non-vegans also enjoy tofu. You certainly don't have to like tofu in order to eat vegan.
Vegan Ice Cream
Vegan ice cream is another sweet treat that has exploded recently, with lots of options to choose from. The latest launch comes from Magnum, who has launched two flavors of vegan-friendly ice cream. You can buy an almond version or classic chocolate. Gone are the days of one soya flavor and here are the days of vegan Magnums and Ben & Jerry’s! See below for some more vegan ice cream inspiration…