Humans have a range of diets that they believe suits them and the variety just keeps increasing. A lot of people are getting tired of hearing about all these different diets; however, the two that seem to confuse people the most are vegetarians and vegans. For those who don’t follow either diet, the difference between them can seem slight.
What is certain is that neither diet includes meats, but as the list grows - the individual changes preference and diet. Which type of vegetarian is a vegetarian? There are so many!!
Just when we thought vegetarianism was starting to be the next big thing, planet and animal-loving vegans began to appear. With the current wave to switch to a healthier lifestyle and diet, millions of people across the globe are adopting not just vegetarian but also the vegan way of living. Vegans are vegetarians but with more diet restrictions, particularly in terms of consuming animal products. This belief not only affects their diet but a lot of product consumption including fashion and cosmetics.
A vegetarian is someone who does not eat meat or consume any kind of animal product. They exclude meat, poultry, and seafood from their diet, however, they may go on to consume dairy products such as milk and eggs. Vegans avoid meat, poultry, and seafood but they take a little step ahead by not consuming milk, eggs, honey or any product/by-product made from animal/ animal skin.
Vegans who choose this diet for moral reasons tend to be passionate about animal welfare, so many avoid wearing leather and suede because they are made from animal skins. They may also avoid any fabrics that are made from animal byproducts, including wool and silk because the animals used to produce these materials are often harmed in the process.
Many vegans also look for cruelty-free cosmetics and beauty products. People typically choose these diets because of health concerns, religious restrictions or moral concerns about harming animals
There are a variety of vegetarians, but the list is pretty simple!
Lacto-ovo (or ovo-lacto), from the Latin words for milk and egg, is the most common type of vegetarian. As the name suggests, people who follow this diet eat dairy products and eggs but avoid meat, poultry, and seafood.
Lacto vegetarians eat dairy products but no eggs, meat, poultry or seafood.
Ovo vegetarians eat eggs but no dairy products, meat, poultry or seafood.
Pesco vegetarians, or pescatarians, don’t technically meet the common definition of vegetarian. People who follow this semi-vegetarian diet eat fish and other seafood but no poultry or meat.
Vegans are also categorized into different types:
Ethical Vegans: They are the most common who evidently put their ethics forward instead of their stomach. They love and care for animals and the environment. Ethical Vegans do not consume any dairy product be it milk, eggs, cheese, honey and avoid the usage of any product made by animal skin or parts.
Plant-Based Vegans: They go on to live on plants based foods, which grow from the ground only.
Raw Vegan: They do not eat any animal by-product and anything that is cooked above the temperature of 115-degree Fahrenheit as they believe that such food will lose its nutrients and enzymes completely.
Read more about the differences between vegan here!
Because many people don’t realize how many seemingly animal-free foods actually contain small amounts of animal products, becoming vegan or vegetarian can come with a lot of surprises. For instance, non-fat yogurt and candies often include gelatin, which is made with animal parts, and some orange juice brands are fortified with omega-3 from fish. Vegans tend to get their omega-3 from supplements or foods like chia seeds.
For vegans and vegetarians, it’s important to ask questions about how restaurant food is prepared before ordering it. Many soups and sauces that don’t seem to contain meat are made with chicken or beef stock, tortillas are sometimes made with lard, and fried foods may be made with animal fat.
Vegans also avoid honey and have to carefully read the ingredient labels of any new foods. For instance, some chocolate - dark chocolate or raw chocolate is vegan, but other types include milk. Also crisps. The next time you buy a packet of crisps to eat, check the label as it may contain milk powder.
Nutrition level varies on three major factors - Carbohydrates, Fats, and Protein. A diet of a vegetarian and a vegan can be healthy only if it contains these basic nutrients. According to Nutritionist, Dr. Anju Sood, “Vegetarian and vegan diets tend to be low in saturated fatty acids and cholesterol” and deemed healthier as long as other vital minerals and vitamins are replaced.
Carbohydrates and fats get easily consumed by a vegan due to the intake of cereals and pulses but proteins often get neglected. Though the intake of proteins can be cured by eating soya and other products. Hence, a vegan diet may be better for weight control but without proper guidance, it could lead to nutrient deficiencies.
Comments will be approved before showing up.
In this guide you can see the detailed sizing charts to all our products
|Sleeve length, in||8||8||9||9||10||10||11||11|
|Sleeve length, cm||18.4||19.7||20.9||22.2||23.5||24.8||26||27.3|
|Sleeve length, in||7||8||8||8||8|
|Sleeve length, cm||17.3||17.9||18.5||19.1||19.7|
|Sleeve length, in||25||25||25||25||25||25||27||27|
|Sleeve length, cm||62.9||62.9||62.9||62.9||62.9||62.9||67.9||67.9|