Vegan Halloween Products

Last Updated: April 14, 2024

Much of the Halloween candy that gets handed out to trick-or-treaters contains milk products or gelatin. The root of the problem is the chocolate that goes into mass-market Halloween candy is never the premium stuff. And low-end chocolate is rarely vegan since milk chocolate is cheaper than dark chocolate.

The most important thing to know if you are looking for 100% vegan candy, is read the label. Even candy that was vegan at one point can change, so turning that bag around and looking at the ingredients is super important.

Basically any candy that has no animal products in it is considered vegan. The problem is, that with candy, there are ingredients you may not know come from an animal. Here is a list of the most common ingredients in candy that are not vegan:

  • Milk, casein and other milk byproducts
  • Beeswax
  • Gelatin- made from animals bones
  • Carmine- a red pigment made from a beetle
  • Shellac coating made from insects

Vegan Halloween Products


For example, cocoa butter. It sounds like it could be vegan but maybe not because of the butter. If it has butter then it must have dairy, right? Before I was vegan, I thought it was a milk-based butter but it’s not. Cocoa butter is actually the fat portion of the cocoa bean, so it’s vegan. Who knew?!

The following list has vegan-friendly ingredients that you might see on a candy ingredient label. These ingredients are safe for vegans:

  • Dark Chocolate
  • Cocoa Butter
  • Carnauba Wax
  • Organic sugar
  • Rice milk
  • Brown Rice Syrup
  • Palm Fruit Oil
  • Soy Lecithin

Ingredients Not Suitable for Vegans

If you see any of the following ingredients on a candy label, the candy is not vegan and it’s not safe for vegans to consume.

  • Gelatin
  • Carmine
  • Shellac
  • Bone Char
  • Milk Chocolate
  • Beeswax
  • Honey
  • Casein
  • Whey
  • Albumen
  • Confectioner’s Glaze
  • Food Grade Wax

Can Vegans Eat Chocolate?

Yes, there is vegan chocolate candy! Vegans can eat dark chocolate candy and “milk” chocolate that is made with dairy-free milk. If the chocolate has milk, then no because milk is an animal-derived product. However most dark chocolate is vegan because it does not contain milk. Read the ingredients and make sure there is no milk or milk-derived ingredients listed.

About the author, Leafy Souls


This is the staff-writer's account for Leafy Souls' blog.

We aim to make ethical consumerism simple with helpful guides, tips, and recipes to inspire you to make the best decisions.

And, you can trust us to select, test and present to you the most beautiful vegan apparel and accessories, to help you look (and feel) your best.

Follow Me Here

Leave a comment.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}